Featured Book Club: Lit Club

In the future, I plan on focusing different book clubbers in this slot, but for my first post I thought it would be nice to talk about myself some so you can have some background for the blog.

Tell us about Yourself

I’m @shortstack on Litsy although this blog officially has its own litsy account that is @LitClub so you can follow it to get every update. I am an English Literature major who loves reading classics. I also love writing and painting (although I’m not very good at the later). I’m a fan of horror and metal and love experiences be that travel or just a good show. I am also the type of person who always needs to be busy with something and now that I have graduated, sharing my love of books and book clubs with others has become incredibly important to me.

Tell us about the History of Your Book Club

In May of 2015, an old classmate of mine posted that she wanted to have more intellectual conversations in her life. I commented on the post immediately saying that we could start a book club and promised her visions of reading her favorite writer, Ernest Hemingway, around campfires. She immediately agreed and that became our first event.

And while I predicted it wouldn’t last more than 2-3 books, it has continued for years. It started out shaky with frequent reschedules plaguing our first year, but then became stable. While we’ve always had fluctuating members, there is a core 3, including the two co-founders that show up to each event. This has recently expanded to 5 total constants. There are an additional 5-6 more that show up intermittently.

But what I love most about our book club is that over the years it has become so much more, we are now a family instead of the strangers we started out as. And it was the book club that helped make that transformation. They are now some of my closest friends in Los Angeles and we celebrate book club as the one time a month we know we will all get to hang out together.

What is the Distinguishing Feature of your Book Club?

It started out as a dedication to becoming better read. We still focus heavily on classic literature, but it has since developed into something more. What makes our book club unique and fun now is the events we plan around the books we read. We will do thematic food and drink to fit the culture/setting of the book, or host it in an interesting setting (such as a 1920s themed bar for reading Zelda Fitzgerald’s Save Me the Waltz). We’ve also planned trips together and have read books related to the area that we are traveling to. When we see fun events (such as a Bloody Mary festival) we all start talking about what thematic books we could read to discuss when we go.

We also choose themes for each year. For example this year we have been reading the writer’s of The Lost Generation and next year we will have the theme of Shakespeare plays and their modern adaptations. About half of our events each year center around our theme still giving room for us to indulge in other items.

What’s your Favorite thing about Being a Part of a Book Club?

There is so much! But for our book club, I think it’s the excitement right up to and during the event. The books we read for it are a little sweeter knowing we’ll have good conversation and experiences to match them. Getting to see good friends always makes me happy. Even preparing meals when I host has that feeling of community that comes with making a holiday meal. You’re preparing for your chosen clan and I love that. And planning future events always hold that promise of more good memories and experiences.

What’s your Favorite Book you’ve read for Book Club?

I am going to cheat and say two, because we had paired them together. And that’s Zelda Fitzgerald’s Save Me the Waltz and F. Scott Fitzgerald’s Tender is the Night because they are both about the events that surrounded the downfall of their marriage but in very different ways. I’d been reading some biographies of Zelda at the time and we were all in a buzz about the new show on Amazon Prime. Also, for one I made coq au vin and Leia made a signature cocktail and for the other we went to a 1920s themed club and my cousin (also a book lover) was in town for it. So the entire experience was of the epic stature that fit their lives. Combine that with two books that are self-indulgent while being insightful and you have my kind of party. It was a wonderful experience overall. Lots to talk about and lots to experience.

What, to you, is the most Important Element to a Successful Book Club?

Successful planning. That means everything from coordinating dates to choosing location and balancing the burden of those involved. As well as finding ways to keep a diverse group consistently happy with book choices. Centralizing communication can keep everyone on the same page and remind them of the dates/times they’ll be meeting as well.

Anything Else you’d like to Add?

Above all, book clubs should be fun. They should align with the interests of the creators and the members in the book club. We should make them our own and what we want them to be.

Leave a comment